I feel like my brain has been scrambled.  The past 18 hours have been rather insane.  I did not expect to, you know, get engaged that particular day.  I mean, I think it’s actually a bit overdue, but I’m still in a little bit of shock that it happened YESTERDAY and now I am wearing this ring on my finger and thinking about colors and bridesmaids and summer weddings.

R. and I met at a state park when we were both working seasonal jobs there back in ’04.  We didn’t start dating until he got a “career” job and left the park.  Our first date was July 5th–which, in this bizarro world that I live in–just happened to be the anniversary of my parent’s first date.

Fastforward 3+ years to yesterday, where R. proposed to me at that state park where we met–in my favorite spot, on a cold but beautifully colorful fall day.  It was where I used to dream about being proposed to–and the fact that it actually happened there is quite wonderful.  However, R. in all his glorious timing managed to propose on my parent’s wedding anniversary.  So, every milestone in our relationship is also a milestone in my parent’s and, I’m not going to lie, it’s a little creepy!

I just need to make sure we pick a wedding day that has absolutely NO connotation with my parents.

So, on top of trying to finish this portfolio, participate in NaBloPoMo & NaNoWriMo, teach, and have a moment of shut eye or two–I am also beginning to try to figure out if a late June wedding would be possible as my Mom claims it will not be.

So, while I’m espousing plagiarism and credible sources to my students, I am thinking of white gowns and flowers and, yes, actually getting married to the man I love.

NaNoWriMo Update:  Thanks to a decently long lunch break, I managed to pound out my words yesterday.  We’ll see if today produces the same results.  Right now I am at 10,130.  Woo.

