I slept in until 8:15 this morning and feel like I’ve been hit by a truck.  Sleeping for nine hours is no more relaxing, it’s debilitating.

I think a lot about sleep–I don’t know why.  I’ve always been a night owl.  It’s so much easier to stay up until 3am instead of waking up at 5am.  Gettig up early never suited me, no matter how hard I tried.  My first “real” job outside of college required me to be at work at 8am 3 days a week and by 11am 2 days a week.  Despite 10 months working there, I never could get into the go to bed at a decent hour–get up at a decent hour rhythm.  I suppose it had something to do with the 2 days I didn’t have to be there until 11.  I think it also had something to do with the stress of being stuck in a soul crushing job at a corporation that was more evil than not and expected me to lie to unsuspecting people.

I am a nice little mix of both sides of my family.  My Mom and my Grandpa (her dad) are night owls, content to stay up late and lucky enough to usually be able to sleep in.  My Dad and other Grandpa (his dad) are usually asleep by 9pm and awake by 3, 4, or 5am depending on their level of worry.  If they have one thing on their mind, one problem, one irritation, one bothersome thing–they cannot sleep, they worry and stew and sleep is a foreign notion for more than a few hours those nights and inevitably they realize too early in the morning that they will never sleep and get up to worry and stew in the waking hours.

If something is bothering me, if something is worrying me, if I am nervous, excited, or upset.  I cannot sleep.  I toss and turn and stew.  Eventually, towards morning I will fall asleep and catch a few hours, but I am not one who can easily put away her problems and just sleep.  The conditions have to be just right.

I am still easily converted to a night owl, but admittedly this teaching job has helped wear me out enough to go to bed at a decent hour, and I am on most days not dead to the world when I have to get out of bed a 5:30.  I don’t know if this means I’m growing into something new or what, but it is taking some time to get used to.

Now, if I could just get rid of the stewing when I need to be sleeping, all would be perfect.

-This boring post is brought to you by NaBloPoMo!

