I went wedding dress shopping with my Mom and Sister #1 yesterday.  You know how on movies and TV shows and what-not the bride-to-be puts on dresses and everyone oohs and aahs and it is this fun, touching journey to find the dress?  Yeah, not so much.

You see, finding a wedding dress combines two things I hate: trying stuff on and being the center of attention.

So, I wasn’t very pleasant yesterday.  (This may also have to do with the fact that Sister #2 had purposefully breathed on me the previous day–thus spreading her cold).  I was a bit of the anti-bride.  And, at one store, the sales woman was SHOCKED to hear that I did not like this process of trying wedding dresses on.

And, I can’t say I blame her.  Doesn’t every girl dream of her dress and her wedding and ya ya ya?  It’s something that I certainly thought about, but I suppose in a way I have my head twisted firmly on my shoulders because really I always fantasized more about the actual marriage than the wedding day.

Not to say I don’t want to look amazing on my wedding day–because I am shallow enough to want that.  It’s just, as with most things, I don’t want to put a whole lot of effort into it.  Because the more effort you put into it, the more upset you are when something goes wrong, and I would like to avoid that disappointment–because it is a wedding so something will inevitably go wrong… and I want that to be okay by me rather than the end of the world.

Planning a wedding is definitely more of a balancing act than I thought–and it’s about pleasing a lot more people than I thought.

But today, today I am sick in bed and need to worry more about grading papers, planning this upcoming week’s lessons, and getting together all my certification paperwork rather than where this wedding is going to be and what I’ll be wearing to it.   This five day holiday went by much faster than I appreciate–I could use about five more days/months/years of not working.

