Dear Attitude-Problem Student,

I get it.  You don’t like the assignment.  The angry sighs and rolling of eyes were a pretty big clue.  When you snatched the paper off my desk because I said you weren’t quite there yet, yeah, I think I “get it.”  You don’t like this assignment or me by extension.  I’m okay with that.

I apologize for my lack of concern or sympathy.  Might I suggest putting forth an effort?  Or, perhaps, looking at the mistakes you’ve made and try to learn from them.  Or even, God forbid, ask questions!  You see turning in the same exact thing over and over and hoping it will produce a different result doesn’t exactly work.  In fact, I believe that’s a definition of insanity.

I would also like to point out that I am the giver of the grade.  And, while you earn the majority of your grade, there are areas where a teacher might “bump” a student up, if the appropriate effort and attitude are evident.  Eye rolling, sighing, stomping, and other temper-tantrums do not fall within that “appropriate” category.

Sincerely,

Ms. ____________

