It’s true.  I am not one of those people that knows all the cool bands or the up and comers.  I do get offended when a band I like has a hit single and I do not go around telling people I have been listening to them forever and that makes me so much better than them who heard the song on the radio and now likes it you SELL OUTS.  And, since my Ipod, I don’t listen to the radio very much so I often get stuck listening to  bands and singers that are now ridiculed and, let’s face it, probably were ridiculed when they were mildly popular (yeah, I like Jewel).

Anyway, all this to say I like John Mayer and I think since Continuum his street cred is up, but, really, I have no idea.  I like his music, always have and always will–even if it makes me a music loser.  So, as I was driving the other day this song came on my “pod” and I think it’s from his second album.  I remember listening to it not more than a year ago and feeling the same way.  It’s called “Something’s Missing” and it used to speak to me.

“Something’s missing
And I don’t know how to fix it
Something’s missing
And I don’t know what it is
No I don’t know what it is
At all

And autumn comes
It doesn’t ask
It just walks in
Where it left you last
You never know
When it starts
Until there’s fog inside the glass around your summer heart
Already

Can’t put my finger on
What’s keeping me down
Something’s missing
And I don’t how to fix it
Something’s missing
And I don’t know what it is
No I don’t know what it is
Now

I can’t be sure that this state of mind
Is not of my own design
I Wish there was an over the counter test
For loneliness, for loneliness
Like this

Something’s missing
And I don’t know how to fix it
Something’s missing
And I don’t know what it is
No I don’t know what it is”

I had a boyfriend I loved.  I was working towards my “career.”  I had friends and family around me, and yet something was missing.  I still don’t know what it was.  But, this song just came on and I realized I didn’t feel that way anymore.  I don’t feel like anything is missing.  And I’m not sure what changed, but I like it.

