I am not a very social person.  I have always been quiet in crowds and slow to warm up to people.  Now, don’t get me wrong–once I warm up you can’t quiet me.  I am a wild woman.

For instance, I moved to the STL area in 8th grade.  I knew no one, and though some lovely girls befriended my painfully shy little self, I still barely talked at school.  EVER.  Then, these lovely friends threw a birthday party-SLUMBER PARTY.  Even my painfully shy self (then and now) can’t resist the sugar and all-nightering for a slumber party–so that wild self came out.  I can still remember the yearbook entries claiming they thought I never spoke until that slumber party–and now they knew I was not mute.

I am better than my 8th grade self, for the most part, but I think it’s because I stick with “the known” and very rarely branch out.  Occasionally, my old high school/college friends get together.  Occasionally, R. and I will meet another couple for a casual dinner or a Cards game.  That is the extent of my socialization.  It’s comfortable, I like it, and I rarely have to meet more than one new person.

But, not tonight.  Tonight, I am going to a trivia night with a table full of of R.’s coworkers and R.’s Coworker’s wives.  I know one couple, but have never met the other two.  It all sounds very foreign and adult.  Things my PARENTS do–not me.  I am not nervous about the trivia, because Lord knows I will blow everyone away with my amazing skills of completely useless knowledge (woo!).  But, I am nervous about the social part of it.  The interacting with a group of people–adult people–and acting like I’ve got my shit together when, let’s face it, I don’t!  That part freaks me out a little.

Also, I don’t know what to wear.  Fashion was never my strong suit either.

